by eggsurplus

Control what your users can access and save time, money, and frustrations. Lock down sensitive data in SuiteCRM to specific groups or teams. Supports unlimited assigned users, unlimited group assignments to records, custom layouts for each group, login/sudo capabilities and much more.

Free 30 day trial
Try it Now

#1657 - Security Group Layouts edit view detail view syncing from Default

Closed Bug? created by Grace Christian University 2 years ago

I have created a security group we will call Sales for the sake of this ticket. I created a Sales layout for the contact module. I edited the edit view (sync to detail view is checked) and saved & deployed it. I then went back to default view and changed the edit view and saved & deployed that. Now I see that the detail view for the Sales layout matches the edit view for the Default layout.
I have tried redeploying the edit view for the sales layout and it does not change the detail view.

  1. eggsurplus member avatar

    eggsurplus Provider Affiliate

    2 years ago

    If you go back to Studio do the layouts look as you expect? If so, is there a cache enabled on the server such as Memcache or APC? Try disabling, restarting Apache, and see if that clears it up.

  2. mlove member avatar

    The layouts are as they are supposed to be as it appears in studio. We have tried having the end user login and out of CRM as well as clearing their browser cache. There is no server cache other than what comes with SuiteCRM natively. Doing a quick repair and rebuild should have cleared that cache.

    • eggsurplus member avatar

      eggsurplus Provider Affiliate

      2 years ago

      Thanks for checking on that. What version of SuiteCRM are you currently on? There are known issues with SuiteCRM itself in certain older versions of SuiteCRM that will cause this exact issue. Their theme framework contained some buggy logic when they started rolling out their new theme management.

      Upgrading SuiteCRM would solve the problem if that's the issue here. I understand the challenges with upgrading at will. If that is a challenge here I may be able to produce a patch for your specific version of SuiteCRM.

      Thank you!

  3. mlove member avatar

    7.8.16 If necessary we can do a remote access session.

  4. mlove member avatar

    While troubleshooting we discovered the end user that was having issues was part of a group that was previously deleted, but not likewise marked as deleted in the securitygroups_users table. Once deleted was changed to a value of 1 it began displaying properly.

    • eggsurplus member avatar

      eggsurplus Provider Affiliate

      2 years ago

      Wow, great find! I'll add something into the next release to check for this scenario.

  5. eggsurplus member avatar

    eggsurplus Provider Affiliate

    2 years ago

    Thanks again for following up on the solution here. It looks this is possible when a user is a member of a group, the group then gets deleted, and the user goes to any layout that previously had a custom layout. For anyone else reviewing this to solve a similar issue, have the user log out and then back in. This should reset the session and remove the deleted group as their primary custom layout group.

This case is public. Please leave out any sensitive information such as URLs, passwords, etc.
Saving Comment Saving Comment...
Rating
  • "Thank you so much. Highly recommend the module to work in teams."

    Read More Reviews