That is the case, very definitely! Regarding your main question: I don't know.
What I know regarding the Official SuiteCRM Outlook Plugin is the following : If a contact is synched to Outlook (user assigned + check box checked) and you change the user assignment later on, the contact will be deleted in Outlook.
By the way: I would delete all contacts in Outlook and re-synch them entirely. However, only possible if you do not have other contacts than SuiteCRM contacts.
By the way, I think I'm gonna test the Implicit plugin.